Accidental Mileage…

So, finally I am at a computer with the internet and can tell you all about my run on Monday.  After recovering from strength training on Saturday and also the horrid virus, I decided I should knuckle down and get some miles under my belt. My intention was to do 7.8 miles – roughly a 10% increase on last time. Smoothie intake done, new Skins leggings on (ooft they’re tight but Emma says my bum looks good so happy faces all round) and off we go…. Em and I set off together and headed for the Common to do laps – a bit of a boring decision but my imagination wasn’t stretching much further on a Monday evening.

I felt really good running – no stitches, breathing settled in nicely and it felt really buzzy in Clapham…lots of runners! However, half way around my first lap of the Common my Nike+ Trainers tells me I am half way… Either I am running at lightening speed or I have set my monitor to KM not miles (duh). I don’t like stopping when I have found my pace but I re-set it to miles and kept going… Em and I were doing opposite laps so we were waving at each other on our way round…awww!

During this run, I was trying to focus on my posture and core after chatting about it with Amy at On Track Sports Therapy. When I found myself slumping I tried to engage my core and stay more upright. It felt a bit bizarre at first but I’m sure as I practise it more will benefit my running.

Nearing the end of the run I could feel the impact of a longer distance on my shins and calves – they were pretty sore and I knew that the stretching out and foam roller would be a painful session. Our neighbours must wonder what we’re doing with all the screeching and yelping coming from our living room. I’m really hoping that with proper recovery, my shins won’t be too much of an issue – it’s becoming clear that I am going to have to keep an eye on them and make sure I focus on them especially as mileage increases. Massage and ice have been recommended before so I will take that on board.

By the time I’d finished my run and made it up the hill to home, I knew I’d done further than 7.8 miles, I could feel I had – After adding up the accidental miles it turns out I’d run 9.7 miles – slightly more than intended but at least I know I can do it… On to a painful recovery session but it was very much needed… Even the tennis ball came into use… youch!!

Distance: 9.7 miles

Time: 1hr 9mins 24 secs

Pace: 7″11

Weather: Dry and cold

Music: Running playlist – loved a bit of Incubus to get me up the last hill…. Oh and Beyonce’s Run the World is most definitely a tune for the difficult miles – Who run the world? GIRLS!

NB: I invested in some Skins running leggings from Sweatshop last weekend – not only are they fiiiiiiiit they were so comfortable to run in – I can fully recommend them and they will keep my little legs warm during the winter months and cool during the warmer times. Worthwhile investment fo’shizzle 🙂

Happy Running everyone – stay safe in the increasingly cold weather. If any of Team Variety are reading this, I hope your training is going well….It’s been really lovely to chat to you this week… Keep up the amazing work!!

frankiesaysrun xxx

Would you like to see why I am running the Marathon?

Sam’s Film

Frankie’s fundraising page

One thought on “Accidental Mileage…

  1. Another good blog read Frankie, I’m enjoying following along!
    Almost 10 miles in under 1:10 is some very good pace (and endurance), keep it up!
    I’m totally with you on the core & posture changes to my running. Needs to be done, but feel like a wonky duck when I’m concentrating to force myself to do it 😉

Leave a Reply

